Taking a chance.

This summer I will be studying abroad in Italy!

A couple of weeks ago, I was accepted to Boston University’s summer study abroad program in Padova, Italy. Initially I was ecstatic, but then one day I heard a few of my peers talking about all of the courses they will be taking in order to get ahead over the summer. My Type A personality immediately reared its ugly head and I found myself in a pool of guilt about the prospect of spending the summer in Italy while I could be taking biochemistry at home. To the normal person, this would be a simple decision- Italy vs. Biochemistry? Um, ITALY. duh.

After racking my brain for a week, debating what to do with my summer, I was on the verge of giving up my dreams of Italy. But with the guidance of some trusted individuals, along with some soul-searching, I have come to the conclusion that Italy is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity that I should not pass up. According to my confidants, when else will I have seven weeks of my life to just travel to Europe? After college, most likely never.
I have studied my butt off to master the language, spent hours on the application for the program, and developed a profound love for all things Italian- to let it all go would be a mistake. I do not deal well with regret and when I look back, do I want to be able to say that I spent my summer in a classroom learning biochemistry, or traveling around Italy? I have decided on the latter.

I’m trying this new thing called “leaving my comfort zone and taking chances.” While I have been trying to incorporate it into many areas of my life, Italy would be the ultimate test of my commitment to this attitude. I have always played it safe- and I think that it is time to stop living passively and to go out and to forge my own path. Although I’m scared to leave my comfort zone, I am excited to take the leap.

I started this blog to document my adventures with food- where better to explore my passion for food than in the land of Parmigiano Reggiano and gelato?! Andiamo!

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Taking a chance.

  1. I am so excited for you!!!! Italy >>>>> biochem !! This will be so much fun! and hopefully you will have a little bit of time stateside for trips to the beach and sharing your cooking skillz!

  2. ok, I have like a million different things to say swirling around in my head, but:
    1) Oh man, I had the EXACT same feelings about studying abroad in Italy for a semester. I’d have to take so many classes my senior year to graduate on time, etc etc etc. Let me tell you right now – it will change your life. Italy is amazing, and BEYOND worth it. Especially since you’ve studied the language. You made the absolute right decision to go. (Yes, I am a relative total stranger, but I swear you will never, ever regret this!)
    2) We are also similar in that I started my food blog during ym semester in Italy!!! Too cool! I am definitely going to have to read every single post. I’m already ready to go back (I studied in Florence, but Italy is Italy!)
    3) PLEASE go to Florence, it is amazing. And when you do, email me and I will tell you where you MUST eat – the food was probably my favorite part, and I loved it all!
    4) Se vuoi practicare il tuo italiano, per favore mi manda una email! Mi piace moltissimo parlare in italiano – che bella lingua! E, imparerai molto della cultura e della lingua. Ti divertirai moltissimo! Sono molto eccitata leggere delle tue avventure!

Leave a Reply

